EgyptAir flight MS804

Armenia will be 8th country to sign such agreement with Iran

Armenia and Iran plan to sign an agreement on abolishing visas, a draft of which is put on the agenda of the upcoming June 2 session of the Armenian government, the government said in a statement on its website.

"The agreement is aimed at further development of relations between the two countries, strengthening mutually beneficial economic, trade and other relations and regulation of mutual visits of both countries' citizens," the statement said.

According to the document, Armenian and Iranian citizens will not need the entry visas for a stay of up to 90 days in a period of 180 days. The authorities of the two states can extend the period of stay.

Iran has revoked visa requirements for nationals of 7 countries as part of its plans to boost tourism industry in the country.

According to a report published by the Iranian media, citizens of Turkey, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Bolivia, Egypt and Syria can travel to Iran without visa.

Under the new visa requirement regulations, citizens from these countries can stay in Iran without visa from 15 to 90 days.

Iranian authorities have already started studying a visa waiver program under which visa limitations for citizens of 60 countries around the globe will be lifted.

Armweeklynews [02.06.2016]
Armenia will be 8th country to sign such agreement with Iran